Shadowrun

Shadowrun Play => Rules and such => Topic started by: phydaux42 on <07-16-15/2041:42>

Title: Do armor enhancements in cyberlimbs stack?
Post by: phydaux42 on <07-16-15/2041:42>
Say I replace all four limbs with cyberlimbs, and give each limb +3 Armor.  Does my character now have 12 Armor?
Title: Re: Do armor enhancements in cyberlimbs stack?
Post by: Overbyte on <07-16-15/2046:08>
Say I replace all four limbs with cyberlimbs, and give each limb +3 Armor.  Does my character now have 12 Armor?

In a word. Yes.
Title: Re: Do armor enhancements in cyberlimbs stack?
Post by: gradivus on <07-16-15/2052:45>
By RAW in 5th Edition, yes.

Munchkin-ism, umm, sorry, I meant optimization.
Title: Re: Do armor enhancements in cyberlimbs stack?
Post by: Whiskeyjack on <07-16-15/2057:52>
Munchkin-ism, umm, sorry, I meant optimization.
This is in no way optimized.

The fact that you think optimization and munchkinism are synonymous pretty much confirms you don't know what you're talking about on this front.
Title: Re: Do armor enhancements in cyberlimbs stack?
Post by: Overbyte on <07-16-15/2108:13>
So.. that question made me think of this:

If you Titanium Bone Lacing (which gives 3 armor) and a Cyberlimb with 3 Armor..
Do you have 6 armor? Even though your arm.. which would have had bone lacing, instead has armor?
I assume according to RAW you do have 6, since you don't average in the no-bone-lacing case.
Title: Re: Do armor enhancements in cyberlimbs stack?
Post by: PiXeL01 on <07-16-15/2300:12>
By RAW they stack. And why wouldn't they? As there aren't rules for location damage even helmets just adds to the defense pool.
It's simpler this way but can lead to some extremely high soak pools
Title: Re: Do armor enhancements in cyberlimbs stack?
Post by: Medicineman on <07-17-15/0204:42>
Munchkin-ism, umm, sorry, I meant optimization.
This is in no way optimized.

The fact that you think optimization and munchkinism are synonymous pretty much confirms you don't know what you're talking about on this front.
[bold] +1[/bold]
Quote
   If you Titanium Bone Lacing (which gives 3 armor) and a Cyberlimb with 3 Armor..
Do you have 6 armor?

Yes , they do


Hough!
Medicineman
Title: Re: Do armor enhancements in cyberlimbs stack?
Post by: I_AM_ZHOUL!!! on <07-17-15/0303:00>
By RAW in 5th Edition, yes.

Munchkin-ism, umm, sorry, I meant optimization.

Using 4 Cyberhands/Feet to accomplish this than yes... Munchkin. For 4 full cyberlimbs... GTFO! That's a huge investment in Nuyen & Essence for Soak which is the cheapest dice pool in the game to raise.
Title: Re: Do armor enhancements in cyberlimbs stack?
Post by: Top Dog on <07-17-15/0533:39>
Especially since, while Cyberarms have all kinds of nifty applications, the other cyberlimbs are kind of meh. And there's cheaper ways of getting soak if you weren't already getting a cyberlimb.

(If you do have cyberlimbs, stuffing armor into them is quite efficient, though)
Title: Re: Do armor enhancements in cyberlimbs stack?
Post by: Whiskeyjack on <07-17-15/1041:48>
Legs aren't bad if you want to be high mobility, using the hydraulic jacks. But that's about all they can provide. You're right that they're less good than arms.
Title: Re: Do armor enhancements in cyberlimbs stack?
Post by: Reaver on <07-17-15/1127:27>
Bone-lacing, othroskin, and cyberlimb armor all stack.

Yes, its kinda silly.
Yes, its RAW.
Title: Re: Do armor enhancements in cyberlimbs stack?
Post by: Whiskeyjack on <07-17-15/1214:26>
Bone-lacing, othroskin, and cyberlimb armor all stack.

Yes, its kinda silly.
Yes, its RAW.
The main alternative is hit locations and location-specific armor. No thanks!
Title: Re: Do armor enhancements in cyberlimbs stack?
Post by: Reaver on <07-17-15/1220:27>
Bone-lacing, othroskin, and cyberlimb armor all stack.

Yes, its kinda silly.
Yes, its RAW.
The main alternative is hit locations and location-specific armor. No thanks!

Agreed!

I have played games that use hit locations, and while cool, they bog down the game unless fully encorperated into the hit system.... something SR doesn't have with its strict success count.
Title: Re: Do armor enhancements in cyberlimbs stack?
Post by: gradivus on <07-17-15/1333:31>
Munchkin-ism, umm, sorry, I meant optimization.
This is in no way optimized.

The fact that you think optimization and munchkinism are synonymous pretty much confirms you don't know what you're talking about on this front.

I didn't say 'all' optimization is munchkinism- I said cyber limb armor stacking is munchkinism ...because while full limbs may be expensive... the armor stacking inevitably leads to someone who buys just hands and feet and they would say they're just optimizing their character.

I don't personally like the cyber armor stacking- I make no bones about it... that it's RAW, I fully admit also.
Title: Re: Do armor enhancements in cyberlimbs stack?
Post by: gradivus on <07-17-15/1344:48>
By RAW in 5th Edition, yes.

Munchkin-ism, umm, sorry, I meant optimization.

Using 4 Cyberhands/Feet to accomplish this than yes... Munchkin. For 4 full cyberlimbs... GTFO! That's a huge investment in Nuyen & Essence for Soak which is the cheapest dice pool in the game to raise.

I'm sure that someone who get's cyberlegs in addition to cyberarms  is not using them for just the armor soak... but, hey, to each is own.
I went outside BTW but there weren't any women available at the time so I was unable to engage in the activity you suggested.
Title: Re: Do armor enhancements in cyberlimbs stack?
Post by: Reaver on <07-17-15/1348:03>
By RAW in 5th Edition, yes.

Munchkin-ism, umm, sorry, I meant optimization.

Using 4 Cyberhands/Feet to accomplish this than yes... Munchkin. For 4 full cyberlimbs... GTFO! That's a huge investment in Nuyen & Essence for Soak which is the cheapest dice pool in the game to raise.

I'm sure that someone who get's cyberlegs in addition to cyberarms  is not using them for just the armor soak... but, hey, to each is own.
I went outside BTW but there weren't any women available at the time so I was unable to engage in the activity you suggested.


You just didn't hold the money high enough.
Title: Re: Do armor enhancements in cyberlimbs stack?
Post by: Xenon on <07-18-15/0407:14>
As I see it, there are five issues with cyberlimbs;

My suggested house rule to fix all 5 issues can be found here:
http://forums.shadowruntabletop.com/index.php?topic=18539.0
Title: Re: Do armor enhancements in cyberlimbs stack?
Post by: PiXeL01 on <07-18-15/0444:27>
Redliner quality can get you that final +1 on your cyberlimbs although it'll cost you boxes.
Title: Re: Do armor enhancements in cyberlimbs stack?
Post by: Rooks on <07-18-15/1004:11>
and you use the points you save from the +1 or 2 and the the other one that gives +1 to wp and put it into body to offset it
Title: Re: Do armor enhancements in cyberlimbs stack?
Post by: Whiskeyjack on <07-18-15/1032:03>
1-arm AGI is nice but IMO not all it's cracked up to be. No effect on movement, bad effects on anything you need to 2-hand, which is most if not all Automatics and Longarms depending on GM ruling.

Don't get me wrong it's great for a pistoleer but I can't tell you how many times high-AGI move has saved my bacon or let me set up in a better position to annihilate the opposition, and a dumpstat AGI character can't rely on that at all.
Title: Re: Do armor enhancements in cyberlimbs stack?
Post by: PiXeL01 on <07-18-15/1059:13>
Getting to strength 10 gives you an additional recoil compensation.
Title: Re: Do armor enhancements in cyberlimbs stack?
Post by: Xenon on <07-18-15/1114:10>
1-arm AGI is nice but IMO not all it's cracked up to be. No effect on movement, bad effects on anything you need to 2-hand, which is most if not all Automatics and Longarms depending on GM ruling.

Don't get me wrong it's great for a pistoleer but I can't tell you how many times high-AGI move has saved my bacon or let me set up in a better position to annihilate the opposition, and a dumpstat AGI character can't rely on that at all.
2 used feet and a left hand with armor and a right arm with armor and 9 agility is quite powerful for a decker....
Title: Re: Do armor enhancements in cyberlimbs stack?
Post by: I_AM_ZHOUL!!! on <07-18-15/1132:48>
1-arm AGI is nice but IMO not all it's cracked up to be. No effect on movement, bad effects on anything you need to 2-hand, which is most if not all Automatics and Longarms depending on GM ruling.

Don't get me wrong it's great for a pistoleer but I can't tell you how many times high-AGI move has saved my bacon or let me set up in a better position to annihilate the opposition, and a dumpstat AGI character can't rely on that at all.
2 used feet and a left hand with armor and a right arm with armor and 9 agility is quite powerful for a decker....

Which is why the GM should have a hard cover book for throwing at your head for doing so. A simple table/text saying that Cyberlimb Enhancements are limited to the same level as Bulk Modification solves that loose end.
Title: Re: Do armor enhancements in cyberlimbs stack?
Post by: Whiskeyjack on <07-18-15/1133:53>
"I was in a terrible industrial accident and thereafter unlocked MY MIND" is maybe a cool backstory for that even if it is, y'know, a pretty apparent rules exploit.

I probably wouldn't play it because of how much the cost seems to set you back (and preferring other ware/gear, and preferring AR deckers which necessitate other things) but I'm AFB to truly run the numbers.
Title: Re: Do armor enhancements in cyberlimbs stack?
Post by: Rooks on <07-18-15/1250:06>
Getting to strength 10 gives you an additional recoil compensation.
not to mention the ability to wear a ballstic mask helmet and a shield for 10 more armor points, incase you didnt have enough armor already
Title: Re: Do armor enhancements in cyberlimbs stack?
Post by: I_AM_ZHOUL!!! on <07-18-15/2027:13>
Getting to strength 10 gives you an additional recoil compensation.
not to mention the ability to wear a ballstic mask helmet and a shield for 10 more armor points, incase you didnt have enough armor already

Cyberarm Gyromount gives +3 RC if that's what you want. But no Rooks...you use Natural strength not cyberlimb strength for determining how much Armor you can wear before taking Penalties.